Lazy Weeknight Meals: Salmon Cakes over Mixed Greens

ImageI don’t usually try to cook things without working off a recipe as a starting point, but I’ve made meatloaf so many times that I figured I could give salmon cakes a try.  And, not to toot my own horn, but TOOT!  They were amazing!

I just eyeballed the ingredients, so I’ll give you rough measurements.  What you’re going for is a patty that holds together but is still pretty wet.  Same basic concept as meatloaf, maybe a little looser.  For me, this made 7 cakes, which is enough for dinner tonight and lunch tomorrow.

Make the Salmon Cakes:

Ingredients:

  • 2 cans wild Alaskan salmon (I used boneless/skinless, but you can get the kind with the bones and mix it all up in a food processor for extra calcium.  I’m serious, that’s a very paleo thing to do.  But I get boneless/skinless because eating the bones is just a little too hardcore for me.)
  • Dill–I used dried, about 1 1/2 tbs (my dill is a little stale; you might want to use less if yours is fresher)
  • Lemon juice–a couple big splashes…probably a little less than 1/8 cup
  • Celery, sliced thin–I used 2 ribs
  • Onions, sliced thin–I used up the rest of my green onions (4), but white onions would be fine if that’s what you have.
  • Minced garlic, to taste–I used about a tablespoon.
  • Salt & pepper, to taste
  • 2 eggs
  • Almond flour–just enough to make the patties stick together.  Don’t overdo it or it will be dry.  I probably used about 1/3 c.

Method:

Heat up some cooking fat in a skillet (I always use coconut oil for frying because it holds up so well and doesn’t oxidize at cooking temps).  Mix up all the ingredients above, and form the mixture into patties.  Put the patties in the hot oil–they should sizzle when you put them in.  Cook a few minutes each side, until you get a nice, delicious-looking brown color.

Salad Dressing:

Ingredients:

  • 2 parts olive oil
  • 1 part lemon juice
  • 1 part white balsamic vinegar (or white wine vinegar, or rice wine vinegar, or whatever kind of light vinegar you have)
  • A small squirt of honey
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • Aromatics–I used something dubiously named “seafood seasoning” that I got at Target, but you can use whatever you like.  Dill would be good, or marjoram & oregano, or really whatever you like.

Method:

Stir vigorously with a fork.  Pour over mixed greens.  Top with salmon cakes.  Gobble, gobble, gobble.

Delicious and Nutritious

Canned wild Alaska salmon is pretty inexpensive, and it packs a big nutritional bang for your buck.  It’s really high in Omega-3s, which can prevent heart disease and mental illness, alleviate inflammatory conditions (acne, asthma, Crohn’s, psoriasis, arthritis, etc.), protect your skin from sun damage, and even inhibit cancer!  So yeah…it’s kind of a big deal.

Salmon also contains a compound called calcitonin, which is particularly good for joint health, as well as bioactive peptides that combat inflammation in the digestive tract and promote insulin effectiveness.

It’s important to get the wild Alaskan salmon.  East coast salmon is all farmed.  Not only is farmed salmon less environmentally sustainable, but it also has significantly higher rates of cancer-causing contaminants.  Plus, farmed salmon eat crazy stuff like soy, poultry litter (?!), and hydrolyzed chicken feathers!  Not to mention that farmed salmon is lower in Omega-3s, despite being 200% higher in fat.  Canned wild salmon is cheaper than farmed salmon filets, so there’s really no reason not to trade up to the healthier thing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

