Anytime Foods: Herbed Goat Cheese

Think Outside the Barn (No?  Too much?)

Regular readers may remember I’ve recently overhauled my approach to dairy.  I’ve replaced milk with cream (one of the most glorious substitutions I’ve ever made in the name of health), and I traded up to butter from grass-fed cows.  Since butter and cream have almost no lactose or casein, I tolerate them pretty well.

I was at the farmer’s market last weekend (one thing I love about Minnesotans: they don’t let a high of 18 degrees in late March keep them down) and met a farmer who sold cheese from her grass-fed goats.  I was eager to try it, because goat milk is supposed to be easier to digest: it contains a form of casein that is more like human breastmilk than cow’s milk, and it forms smaller fat globules that are easier to break down.

I bought the tiny tub at highway robbery prices and enjoyed every last morsel.  Best of all, I had no problems digesting it.  And it was so incredibly delicious that I knew I had to come up with an economically sustainable version I could eat more often.  (Of course, grocery store goat cheese isn’t as delicious or nutritious as farm fresh milk from grass-fed animals.  But for a quarter the price, I’m willing to trade down.)

Herbed Goat Cheese

IMG_8451

Ingredients:

Goat cheese is very versatile.  Make it however you like it!  Here’s one suggestion.

  • Plain goat cheese–I used one 10.5 oz log
  • Rosemary–I used about 2 tbs.  I like the crunch; if you don’t, you may want to use less or grind it in a spice mill first
  • Thyme–I used about 1 tsp
  • Olive Oil–just for flavor and texture.  I used about 1 1/2 tbs.
  • Black Pepper–a hearty grinding

Method:

Mix all ingredients in a bowl.  Put into individual tupperware to enforce portion control, because goat cheese is delicious.  I eat it plain on a spoon, but it would also be good on celery or cucumber slices.

How About Health?

Goat cheese, like all dairy, exists in the ancestral health gray area.  Like all dairy, it isn’t on The Paleo Diet (TM)–but it is in The Primal Blueprint (TM).  But if you tolerate it well, there’s no reason not to eat it; it’s delicious and nutritious:

In addition to containing 13% more calcium than cow’s milk, goat milk also has 25% more vitamin B-6, 47% more vitamin A, 134% more potassium and 350% more niacin. Goat milk is also higher in chloride, copper and manganese and contains 27% more of the essential nutrient selenium. Goat milk contains none of the controversial Bovine Growth Hormone (BGH).

Enjoy it in good health!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

